Only a Witness

Yesterday morning, before church, I was thinking about something that happened in my life nearly three years ago. It was a situation where I observed a supervisor doing something questionable. I agonized over whether or not to report the behavior, because I wasn’t sure there was anything wrong going on at all. Unfortunately, there was no way – at my level – for me to find out. I had to the direct the matter to people with the resources to research and determine whether or not the behavior was wrong, and what the consequences for that behavior would be. My only role was to report what I had witnessed. The company took care of the rest.

During worship at church, we read through part of the Apostles’ Creed together. The part about Jesus. We ended with the phrase about Jesus coming back to judge the living and the dead. And in the moments that followed, God spoke to my heart: You are only a witness. Jesus is the Judge.

The teaching was a continuation of our journey through the gospel of John, starting with the sixth verse of the first chapter: “There was a man sent from God whose name was John. He came as a witness to testify concerning that light, so that through him all might believe. He himself was not the light; he came only as a witness to the light” (NIV, emphasis mine). And again, God spoke: You are only a witness. A witness to the Light.

Another gospel writer, Mark, has this to say about the witness to the Light, “The beginning of the good news about Jesus the Messiah, the Son of God,  as it is written in Isaiah the prophet: I will send my messenger ahead of you, who will prepare your way— a voice of one calling in the wilderness, Prepare the way for the Lord, make straight paths for him” (Mark 1:1-3 NIV). John offers this declaration concerning the testimony of the witness: “The true light that gives light to everyone was coming into the world” (John 1:9 NIV).

Just as John was a witness to the Light coming into the world, so I am a witness of the Light coming back into the world. And just as John prepared the way for the Messiah in the time given him, so I prepare His way in the time given me.

Jesus is coming back. To rule the world.

One thought on “Only a Witness

Leave a Reply

