Testimony: The Things That Are Happening Saturday

Two things are happening on Saturday: one, I am starting a new job, and the other, my five-year-old niece is having a celebration of being cancer-free after a battle with retinoblastoma (in which she lost an eye) and chemo.

Both are answers to prayer.

One, a response to an intense and (relatively) short season of prayer, and the other, a response to prayers over many years.

All I can say is that God hears every sigh and collects every tear, and that has been the most precious thing to me in these seasons of prayer. Because answers to life-changing requests take time, and the hope in a moment of loss and waiting and uncertainty is not looking at what might eventually be, but when God is there in it with you – in the sighing, in the groaning, in the melting down – listening and holding your hand and grieving it with you. And in those moments, God recalibrates your hope, your prayers, your faith. And you what you end up with may or may not be what you desire and when and how, but you will be more keenly aware of God in your life, and that, for me, has been the ultimate thing.

But it is life-giving to see the things you pray for realized, and the things you pray against defeated, so this week, I am celebrating.

Celebrate with me!

2 thoughts on “Testimony: The Things That Are Happening Saturday

  1. Hi, Lydia. I’m celebrating with you! Yippee! And I really like what you said about prayer, particularly, “what you end up with may or may not be what you desire and when and how, but you will be more keenly aware of God in your life, and that, for me, has been the ultimate thing.” What a great ultimate thing to keep in mind through good times and bad!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! It’s been a long journey getting to that ultimate thing, and I still forget it sometimes, but it has been my anchor. Have a blessed day!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

